| Home >> Politics

How To Make A Web Site For A Political Party: Part 2

Sandbox website for the QCD Party. 2006-May-21.
Sandbox website for the QCD Party. 2006-May-21.

Note: Warning, this text won't make sense unless you've read the first part.

1) Introduction

Unfortunately, I don't have a cookbook method to build a good web site for a political party. After having given a few very general rules, I suggest here a few more practical rules, concerning content, access, programming and esthetics.

2) The contents ("Who lives in that house")

See "A Generic Catholic Election Platform" for the most important part of the contents.

A few other rules concerning the contents:

2.1) The electoral platform must exist. By definition, when you ask all voters to vote for you, i.e. to entrust you with one of the most important things in the world (their country, province, city, etc.), you're supposed to know what to do! It's one of the most important rules, and one of the least respected. If your political party doesn't have an excellent electoral platform on its web site, then your political party should be investing all its efforts to write this platform! Otherwise, don't waste your time fiddling around with a web site; change parties or go start up a new one!

2.2) The contents must be very stable. A web site for a political party is almost the exact contrary of a blog. A blog, basically, is one single person who thinks out loud on the Internet. That person posts what she wants, when she wants, and without worrying too much whether what she's saying is really true or not. But a political party web site must present positions that are very solid, based on serious reflections, careful research efforts in Philosophy and Politics, intelligent debates, and these positions should have been prepared by transitory publications letting these ideas be circulated and vetted. If the contents of the web site (especially the electoral platform) change with the wind, that party isn't serious.

2.3) The contents must be the result of a carefully maintained consensus. By definition, advocating a political party means we agree with what that party stands for. If a political party wants to chase people away, all it has to do is fiddle with the contents of the web site without approval by the candidates, members and supporters. Change without consent is like pulling the rug out from people's feet.

2.4) The official site should be copied on a "sandbox site". Since the site contents must be very stable and approved by the majority, it seems to me preferable to have two web sites: an official web site know by the general public, and a "sandbox site" where the web site committee can make experiments, temporarily integrate the member's suggestions, facilitate discussions on such and such a draft policy, etc. At some point of time, you can send an e-mail to all candidates, members and supporters to ask them to scrutinize the "sandbox site", and maybe vote online to say if they approve or not. If it's approved, the "sandbox site" becomes the new official site. You then do a "Copy-Paste" of the new official web site, in order to start a new "sandbox site", and the improvement cycle begins anew. In my opinion, the "sandbox site" doesn't need to be very secret, since on each page it's clearly said that: "This site is only a "sandbox"! The official party web site is here on the Internet!", etc.

3) Organization of access ("Who answers the door")

A few rules about organization of access:

3.1) The home page must give a direct access to the main contents. I guess there should be a rough limit of seven items on the home page, the most important:

- the electoral platform;
- the items of #3.2 here below;
- the items of #3.3 here below.

3.2) Some things must be accessible from anywhere on the site. For example, at the bottom of each page, you can have little links to:

- the home page;
- the equivalent French page to the one you're currently on (French, or whatever other official languages of your party);
- the contact information page (by phone, e-mail, snail-mail, etc.);
- maybe also a site map, also "bread crumbs" which indicate where you are on the site, and perhaps also a "Act Now!" kind of link (after all, the reason you have a web site is to entice people into engaging in politics, so if a little flame is kindled in their heart, you have to shield it and fuel it as quickly as possible!);
- Etc.

3.3) The web site must be summarized at least twice. I feel like saying there are two types of visitors on the web site of a political party: those who are in a hurry, and those who are in a big hurry! There should be at least two "levels" of overview, a "one-minute overview", and a "dozen-minute overview". (For example, on my personal web site, I have a quick Overview. and a more detailed FAQ.)

3.4) The site must offer reading lists to your opponents. By definition, not everybody agrees with a political party, otherwise it would be called a political "whole", not a "party"! In order to get elected, you must successfully persuade many people who don't currently agree with you. One way of doing this is to offer "reading lists" which are tailored to various "target audiences":

- people who are cynical about Politics;
- people who gag when they hear the expression "Christian democracy";
- pro-choicers;
- homosexual persons;
- Muslims;
- atheists;
- people who vote for such and such another party (for each other party, we have to explain why they should stop voting for them);
- Etc.

3.5) These reading lists must be very easy to access. When you are debating in the street with strangers, you want to be able to grab any one of your party's paper documents and scribble a "slashtag" after the web site address, to prescribe the right intellectual and moral medication.

A few examples (you can try these now using my web site name, they should all work):

www.inquisition.ca/life
www.inquisition.ca/marriage
www.inquisition.ca/koran
www.inquisition.ca/god

(Ask your webmaster to add "shortcuts" to the reading lists, using the "Redirect" command in the ".htaccess" file. It's very easy.)

3.6) Ease of access should probably be biased toward newbies and opponents. You can't put links to everything on your home page. Since some things are going to have to be "buried", it's probably a good idea to make your experienced supporters work harder, than newbies and opponents who don't have much patience.

Etc., etc...

4) The programming ("The roof trusses, plumbing, wiring, etc.")

For HTML programming as such, see "HTML For Grannies".

For more general programming rules, see Sections 2 and 3 of A Few Software Rules For This Web Site.

A few other rules:

4.1) The webmaster must be easy to replace. It's ridiculous for a political party's web site to be down for days, or even complete weeks, just because the webmaster is sick, or that he quit in disgust, etc.! (See especially #3.2 in A Few Software Rules For This Web Site to reduce the probability of such a situation occurring).

4.2) The webmaster must not be a bottleneck. The few rare documents which must change often and independently should be uploadable by people who are responsible for them. Some examples: "The news blog", or "The financial spreadsheet", or "The minutes of the executive committee's meetings", etc. Basically, your ISP can set up special folders for you, each having their own username and password. The hyperlinks to those documents never change, so the webmaster is out of the loop.

5) Esthetics ("The paint, curtains, decorations, etc.")

I'm a hopeless loss for esthetics. A few common sense suggestions:

5.1) Get professional help. Ask for portfolios, examples of web sites that these people consulted on, and chose the best.

5.2) Read good books on the topics. See among others the books by Ben Shneiderman or Jeff Johnson in "Some Good Software Engineering Books"

5.3) Visit good-looking web sites. Simply by keeping your eyes open and taking notes, while visiting many web sites, can help you get closer to a solution.

But if you ask for my personal advice, after years in politics, I'd say the best way to improve the esthetics of such a web site is:

5.4) Nice pictures of real members; good videos of debates against worst enemies. I don't like to see pictures of young and pretty people who are just paid to be there, and who would never vote for this party! I'd rather see pictures of ordinary members of the party doing extraordinary things. (For example, a picture of a mother and her kids kneeling in prayer in front of an abortion mill, or a picture of a couple of well-dressed young hemen handing out flyers for the party in front of a mosque, or in front of the CBC building, etc.)

In the same line of thought, videos of party "talking heads" who repeat what is written on the web site don't interest me. But videos of real debates, where we see the arguments of the party's worst enemies being sliced and diced, now that grabs my attention!

6) Conclusion

A good web site is an essential component of any good political party. With the preceding pieces of advice, you have enough information to build one yourself!

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Comment faire un site web pour un parti politique: 2e partie

Site carré de sable du Parti DCQ. 2006-mai-21.
Site carré de sable du Parti DCQ. 2006-mai-21.

Note: Attention, ce texte n'a pas de sens à moins d'avoir lu auparavant la Première partie.

1) Introduction

Je n'ai malheureusement pas de recette de cuisine pour faire un bon site web pour un parti politique. Après avoir donné quelques règles très générales, je suggère ici quelques règles plus pratiques concernant le contenu, l'accès, la programmation et l'esthétique.

2) Le contenu («Qui habite dans cette maison»)

Voir «Un programme électoral catholique générique» pour la partie la plus importante du contenu.

Quelques autres règles concernant le contenu:

2.1) Le programme électoral doit exister. Par définition, quand on demande à tous les électeurs de voter pour nous, c'est-à-dire de nous confier une des choses les plus importantes au monde (leur pays, leur province, leur ville, etc.), on est supposé savoir quoi faire! C'est une des règles les plus importantes, et une des moins respectées. Si votre parti politique n'a pas un excellent programme électoral sur son site web, alors votre parti politique devrait consacrer toutes ses énergies à rédiger ce programme! Sinon, ne perdez pas votre temps à tripatouiller avec un site web; changez de parti ou allez en fonder un nouveau!

2.2) Le contenu doit être très stable. Un site web de parti politique est presque exactement le contraire d'un blogue. Un blogue, au fond, c'est une seule personne qui pense tout haut sur l'Internet. Cette personne met ce qu'elle veut sur son site, quand elle le veut, et sans trop se casser la tête à savoir si ce qu'elle dit est vraiment vrai. Mais un site web de parti politique doit présenter des positions très solides, fondées sur de sérieuses réflexions, de patientes recherches en philosophie et en politique, des discussions intelligentes, et ces positions devraient avoir été préparées par des publications transitoires permettant de faire circuler et approuver ces idées. Si le contenu du site web (surtout le programme électoral) change à tout vent, ce parti n'est pas sérieux.

2.3) Le contenu doit être le résultat d'un consensus soigneusement préservé. Par définition, militer pour un parti signifie qu'on est d'accord avec ce que le parti prône. Si un parti politique veut faire fuir les gens, il suffit de tripoter le contenu du site web sans approbation des candidats, membres et sympathisants. Le changement sans consentement, c'est comme tirer le tapis sous les pieds des gens.

2.4) Le site officiel devrait être dédoublé dans un «site carré de sable» . Parce que le contenu du site doit être très stable et être approuvé par la majorité, il me semble préférable d'avoir deux sites web: un site officiel connu du public, et un site «carré de sable» où le comité du site web peut faire des expériences, intégrer temporairement les suggestions des membres, animer des discussions sur telle ou telle ébauche de politique, etc. À un moment donné, on peut envoyer un courriel à tous les candidats, membres et sympathisants pour leur demander de bien examiner le «site carré de sable», et peut-être de voter par Internet pour dire s'ils l'approuvent ou non. S'il est approuvé, le site «carré de sable» devient le nouveau site officiel. On fait ensuite un «Copier-Coller» du nouveau site officiel, afin de recommencer un nouveau site «carré de sable», et le cycle d'améliorations recommence. Selon moi, le site «carré de sable» n'a pas besoin d'être très secret, car sur chaque page il est bien affiché que: «Ce site n'est qu'un site «carré de sable»! Le site officiel du parti est ici sur l'Internet!», etc.

3) L'organisation de l'accès («Qui répond quand ça sonne à la porte»)

Quelques règles concernant l'organisation de l'accès:

3.1) La page d'accueil doit donner un accès direct au contenu principal. J'imagine qu'on devrait se limiter à environ sept choses sur la page d'accueil, les plus importantes:

- le programme électoral;
- les éléments du point No. 3.2 ci-bas;
- les éléments du point No. 3.3 ci-bas.

3.2) Certaines choses doivent être accessibles de partout sur le site. Par exemple, au bas de chaque page on peut avoir des petits hyperliens vers:

- la page d'accueil;
- la page en anglais équivalente à celle sur laquelle vous êtes en ce moment (anglais, ou quelle que soient les autres langues officielles de votre parti);
- la page des informations de contact (par téléphone, courriel, lettre ordinaire, etc.);
- peut-être aussi une carte du site («site map»), des «miettes de pain» qui indiquent où on est sur le site, peut-être aussi une section «Militer!» (après tout, le but du site web est de persuader les gens de s'impliquer politiquement, alors si une petite flamme de militantisme s'allume dans leur coeur, il faut la protéger et l'alimenter au plus vite!);
- Etc.

3.3) Le site au complet doit être résumé à au moins deux niveaux. J'ai envie de dire qu'il y a deux sortes de visiteurs sur le site web d'un parti politique: ceux qui sont pressés, et ceux qui sont très pressés! Il devrait y avoir au moins deux niveaux de résumé, un «survol en une minute», et un «survol en une douzaine de minutes». (Par exemple, sur mon site web personnel, j'ai un Survol rapide et une FAQ plus détaillée.)

3.4) Il faut offrir des pistes de lecture à nos opposants. Par définition, tout le monde n'est pas d'accord avec un parti politique, sinon, on appellerait ça un «Tout» politique, pas un «parti»! Il faut, pour se faire élire, réussir à convaincre de nombreuses personnes qui ne sont pas d'accord avec nous. Une manière est de présenter différentes «pistes de lecture» adaptées aux «clientèles-cibles»:

- les gens qui sont désabusés de la politique;
- les gens qui s'étouffent quand ils entendent l'expression «démocratie chrétienne»;
- les pro-choix;
- les personnes homosexuelles;
- les musulmans;
- les athées;
- les gens qui votent pour tel ou tel autre parti (pour chaque autre parti, il faut expliquer pourquoi il ne faut pas voter pour eux);
- Etc.

3.5) Ces pistes de lecture doivent être très faciles d'accès. Quand vous discutez dans la rue avec des étrangers, vous voulez pouvoir attraper n'importe quel document papier du parti, et gribouiller un «barre-clic» («slashtag» en anglais) après l'adresse du site web, afin de prescrire le bon médicament intellectuel et moral.

Quelques exemples (vous pouvez essayer ceux-ci maintenant avec le nom de mon site web, ils devraient tous marcher):

www.inquisition.ca/vie
www.inquisition.ca/mariage
www.inquisition.ca/coran
www.inquisition.ca/dieu

(Demandez à votre webmaître d'ajouter des «raccourcis» vers ces pistes de lectures, grâce à la commande «Redirect» du fichier «.htaccess». C'est très facile.)

3.6) La facilité d'accès devrait probablement être biaisée envers les néophytes et les opposants. Vous ne pouvez pas mettre des liens vers tout sur votre page d'accueil. Puisque certaines choses devront être «enterrées» plus creux, c'est probablement une bonne idée de faire travailler plus fort vos sympathisants expérimentés, que les néophytes et les opposants qui n'ont pas beaucoup de patience.

Etc., etc...

4) La programmation («Les fermes de toit, la plomberie, le filage, etc.»)

Pour la programmation HTML en tant que tel, voir «Le HTML pour les grand-mères».

Pour des règles de programmations plus générales, voir les sections 2 et 3 de Quelques règles informatiques de ce site web.

Quelques autres règles:

4.1) Le webmaître doit être facilement remplaçable. Il est ridicule qu'un site web de parti politique «tombe en panne» pendant des jours ou même des semaines entières, parce que le webmaître est malade, ou qu'il est parti en claquant la porte, etc.! (Voir surtout No. 3.2 dans Quelques règles informatiques de ce site web pour diminuer la probabilité d'une telle situation).

4.2) Le webmaître ne doit pas être un goulot d'étranglement. Les quelques rares documents qui doivent changer souvent et indépendamment devraient pouvoir être téléchargés en amont («upload») par les gens qui en sont responsables. Exemples: «le blogue des actualités», ou «le chiffrier des finances», ou «les procès-verbaux des réunions de l'exécutif», etc. En pratique, votre fournisseur web peut vous faire des dossiers spéciaux, ayant chacun leur propre nom d'usager et mot de passe. Les hyperliens vers ces documents ne changent pas, alors le webmaître n'a pas à s'en occuper.

5) L'esthétique («La peinture, les rideaux, les décorations, etc.»)

Je suis vraiment nul en esthétique. Quelques suggestions du gros bon sens:

5.1) Consulter des professionnels. Demander des portefolios, des exemples de sites web que ces gens ont fait, et choisir le meilleur consultant.

5.2) Lire de bons livres à ce sujet. Voir entre autres les livres de Ben Shneiderman ou Jeff Johnson dans «Quelques bons livres de Génie logiciel»

5.3) Visiter de beaux sites web. Le simple fait d'être à l'affût et de prendre des notes, tout en visitant de nombreux sites web, peut apporter des éléments de solution.

Mais si vous me demandez mon avis personnel, après des années en politique, je dirais que la meilleure manière d'améliorer l'esthétique d'un tel site web c'est:

5.4) Belles photos de vrais membres; bons vidéos de débats contre pires ennemis. Je n'aime pas voir des photos de gens jeunes et mignons, mais qui sont payés pour être là, et qui ne voteraient jamais pour ce parti! Je préfère voir des photos de membres ordinaires du parti, mais qui sont en train de faire des choses extraordinaires. (Par exemple, une photo d'une mère avec ses enfants qui sont en prière à genoux devant un camp d'avortement, ou une photo de deux jeunes virs bien habillés qui distribuent des circulaires du parti devant une mosquée, ou devant un bâtiment de la SRC, etc.)

Dans la même veine, des vidéos de «têtes parlantes» du parti qui répètent ce qui est écrit sur le site web ne m'intéressent pas. Mais des vidéos de vrais débats, où on voit les arguments des pires ennemis du parti se faire hacher menu, voilà qui captive mon attention!

6) Conclusion

Un bon site web est une composante essentielle de tout bon parti politique. Avec les quelques conseils précédents, vous avez suffisamment d'information pour en fabriquer un vous-même!

| Accueil >> Politique