| Home >> Lost Sermons

Christians With T-Shirts!

A Christian with a T-shirt!
A Christian with a T-shirt!

1) Introduction

What should Catholics, who are faithful to the Pope, do here in the Quebec Diocese, now, and how?

I will try, in this text, to give the best answer I'm capable of. Several warnings seem appropriate:

1.1) No dogma or morals. This text absolutely does not contain the official teachings of the Church, but my personal opinions on a very practical topic.

1.2) Very limited target audience. This text is mostly for a very small group: the "hard core" Catholics of the Quebec Diocese.

1.3) The rest of this web site is assumed. This text is an attempt to give details about the next phase of the Action Plan described in Section #4 of "Homosexuality, or Heterostupidity?". Moreover, this text doesn't make sense unless you've already spent long hours reading this web site.

1.4) I'm thinking out loud. Normally, when I write a text, it's because I'm under the impression that I have something to say. But this present text is an exception: I'm not sure what to do to help the Quebec Diocese, so I think out loud. If you have any suggestions, please tell me!

2) What is the situation?

The intensely suboptimal situation of the Catholic Church in Quebec has already been described elsewhere. See among others:

- FAQ #7: Do we really need a good inquisition in the Province of Quebec?;

- Point #3 of The Diocesan Demolition Derby;

- Etc., etc.

Enemy forces are numerous:

- By and large, mainstream media hides all good news concerning us, and fabricates anti-Catholic propaganda;

- the State (either provicially or federally) attacks families and the Faith more or less openly;

- the paganized school system tends to produce young persons who are atheists, pro-abortion, mired in ethical relativism, etc.

- Etc., etc.

Friendly forces are small, disorganized, and disappearing:

- Unfortunately, most of the members of the clergy (including some Bishops) are so terrorized that they are incapacitated. The rest are downright against us;

- the various strains of Catholic heterostupidity weaken and divide the rare Catholics still faithful to the Pope;

- the mechanisms whereby we should obtain new friendly forces (traditional families generously open to life, good Catechesis, orthodox seminaries, vibrant parishes, etc.) have been severely damaged or outright co-opted by the Enemy.

3) What is our mission?

Our mission is to re-evangelize the Quebec Diocese.

I repeat, our mission is to re-evangelize the Quebec Diocese.

4) How NOT to go about doing this?

I'm not sure what we should do to accomplish our mission, but I think we can already eliminate several approaches that would be doomed to fail:

4.1) Beg Cardinal Marc Ouellet to change our diapers. Of course we can go see Cardinal Ouellet to share with him our disappointments and our expectations. On the other hand, in my opinion, we mustn't fall into a kind of childishness, where we expect the Cardinal to do everything. I've seen myself, or heard of, several groups in the Diocese who asked the Cardinal to do their job. First of all, in my opinion, the Cardinal is currently not the manly Bishop Quebec needs (although he can change!). But even if he was, he still couldn't do everything, since he's so isolated. We could help him a lot by reaching out to categories of people that are "out of his range", like most young persons (who never go to church and would never spontaneously read a text written by a Catholic Bishop). Also, it's quite probable that we have much more leeway than he does. We are in a position to defend all the teachings of the Church, without being afraid of making other Quebec or Canadian Bishops look bad!

4.2) Start up yet another association/third order/group/personal prelature. The Church in Quebec doesn't lack associations and groups of all kinds. On the contrary, in my opinion, there are too many, and they are scattered, poorly coordinated, underfinanced, etc. Moreover, I want to avoid Microscopic Incestuous Deforestation.

4.3) Cut ourselves off from everybody else, supposedly to concentrate on "our spiritual life". Of course, the soul of our apostolate must be our interior life! But first of all, we don't need to start up another such association (there are already several good ones, like the Opus Dei, www.opusdei.org). Moreover, as far as I know, no existing group, by its nature or character, can do what needs to be done.

4.4) Daydream about all the good we would do if we had lots of money and supporters. If we had lots of money, or many supporters, we wouldn't have a problem. Imagine if all the faithful of the Diocese were very Catholic and faithful to the Pope. We'd immediately stop giving money to the Diocese's parishes, we'd "import" good young Priests, we'd build our own churches, and we'd have our good Masses and Sacraments! Even if the local Bishop condemned us, we'd appeal to Rome, and we'd win! But we have to remain in contact with reality, and do what we can, while asking God to do the rest.

4.5) Cut ourselves off from Rome. We won't even talk about it! It's out of the question! On the contrary, we have to do everything we can to remain faithful to the Pope, and to our diocesan Bishop (insofar as he is himself in communion with Rome).

Etc., etc. (see Section #3 of Homosexuality, or Heterostupidity?)

5) How should be execute our mission?

I continue to think that, by and large, the attack plan described in #4 of "Homosexuality, or Heterostupidity?" is acceptable. We have an excellent "product" (Jesus, the official teachings of the Church, etc.). All we need is a bit of marketing!

So, given all of the above, and my poor little brain which doesn't have any brilliant ideas, I think the next step could be to gather a half-dozen men, make them all put on the same T-shirt, and go hand out leaflets in strategic locations, as a group.

First of all, we'd need to meet to write up these leaflets together, then get them approved, if possible, by one of the two new auxiliary Bishops of the Quebec Diocese. Indeed, the success of our approach would depend a lot on the quality of these leaflets. They must be compelling, doctrinally sound, a bit "provocative" or at least original, and totally adapted to their target audience.

To start the discussion on this idea, we could hand out leaflets which would look like the following, at the locations and with the T-shirts specified. But be careful! In my opinion, none of these T-shirts or texts would be acceptable as is! I'm mostly trying to strike our brains together like flintstones, to make sparks fly!

www.usmc.mil/

Location:

At the entrance of the Valcartier military base.

Leaflets:

Christ, Hostie, Tabernacle (French only, because Quebecers use religious "four letter words")
The Vietnam War And The Ten Commandments
Etc., etc.

americanlifeleague.stores.yahoo.net/crusadertshirt.html

Location:

At the back of churches, after Sunday Mass.

Leaflets:

Merry Christmas (Well, something to promote the Catechism of the Catholic Church)
Overview of the "Redemptionis Sacramentum" Instruction
Etc., etc.

www.opusdei.org/

Location:

At the entrance of Laval University and local High schools.

Leaflets:

The Philosopher's Glove
A Reading List For Atheists
Etc., etc.

Other ideas:

- Hand out leaflets about Courage (www.couragerc.org) near Quebec's sodomite bar (at a legally sufficient distance);

- Put on a T-shirt of the Christian Heritage Party (www.chp-quebec.ca) and go hand out leaflets against abortion or against political cynicism at the entrance of shopping malls;

- Etc., etc...

Also, if some people start arguing against us, just invite them to a public debate on that issue, a debate which would occur either by e-mail or in person.

6) Conclusion

Little by little, leaflet by leaflet, handshake by handshake, we could increase the size of our group. We'd be a bit like a wise businessman who invests what little money he has, makes a bit of honest profit, reinvests his profit, and so on until he becomes rich! As Uncle Bob used to say: "Information motivates the remnant, the leader unites the motivated, union gives force, force buys the media, good media educate, education changes the world".

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Des chrétiens en gaminet!

Un chrétien en gaminet!
Un chrétien en gaminet!

Note: «Gaminet» a été suggéré pour traduire «T-shirt» en bon français. Remarquez aussi que les «chrétiens» au masculin incluent les chrétiennes.

1) Introduction

Qu'est-ce que les catholiques fidèles au Pape devraient faire, ici au diocèse de Québec, maintenant, et comment?

Je vais, dans ce texte, essayer de donner la meilleure réponse dont je suis capable. Plusieurs mises en garde semblent nécessaires:

1.1) Pas de dogme ou de morale. Ce texte ne contient absolument pas les enseignements officiels de l'Église, mais mes opinions personnelles sur un sujet pratico-pratique.

1.2) Auditoire très restreint. Ce texte s'adresse surtout à un tout petit groupe: les catholiques «purs et durs» du diocèse de Québec.

1.3) Le reste du site est supposé connu. Ce texte est une tentative de donner plus de détails sur la prochaine phase du Plan d'action contenu dans la Section No. 4 de «Homosexualité, ou hétérostupidité?». De plus, ce texte n'a pas de sens, à moins d'avoir déjà passé de longues heures à lire ce site web.

1.4) Je pense tout haut. Normalement, quand j'écris un texte, c'est que j'ai l'impression d'avoir quelque chose de vrai à dire. Mais ce texte-ci fait exception: je ne sais pas trop comment faire pour aider le diocèse de Québec, alors je réfléchis tout haut. Si vous avez des suggestions, SVP dites-le moi!

2) Quelle est la situation?

La situation intensément suboptimale de l'Église catholique au Québec a déjà été décrite ailleurs. Voir entre autres:

- FAQ No. 7: A-t-on vraiment besoin d'une bonne inquisition dans la province de Québec?;

- Point No. 3 du Derby de démolition diocésain;

- Etc., etc.

Les forces ennemies sont nombreuses:

- En gros, les principaux médias étouffent toute les bonnes nouvelles nous concernant, tout en fabriquant de la propagande anti-catholique;

- l'État (soit au provincial ou au fédéral) attaque plus ou moins ouvertement les familles et la Foi;

- le système scolaire paganisé tend à produire des jeunes qui sont athées, pro-avortement, perdus dans le relativisme éthique, etc.

- Etc., etc.

Les forces amies sont petites, désorganisées et en train de disparaître:

- Malheureusement, la plupart des membres du clergé (incluant certains évêques) sont tellement terrorisés qu'il sont inaptes au combat. Le reste est carrément contre nous;

- les différentes variantes de l'hétérostupidité catholique divisent et affaiblissent les rares catholiques fidèles au Pape;

- les mécanismes par lesquelles on devrait obtenir de nouvelles forces amies (familles traditionnelles généreuses à donner la vie, bonne catéchèse, séminaires orthodoxes, paroisses dynamiques, etc.) ont été gravement endommagés ou carrément détournés au profit de l'Ennemi.

3) Quelle est notre mission?

Notre mission est de ré-évangéliser le diocèse de Québec.

Je répète, notre mission est de ré-évangéliser le diocèse de Québec.

4) Comment ne pas s'y prendre?

Je ne suis pas certain de ce qu'on devrait faire pour accomplir notre mission, mais je pense qu'on peut éliminer plusieurs approches vouées à l'échec:

4.1) Implorer le Cardinal Marc Ouellet de changer nos couches. Bien sûr qu'on peut aller voir le Cardinal Ouellet pour lui partager nos déceptions et nos attentes. Par contre, selon moi, il ne faut pas tomber dans une sorte d'infantilisme, où on attend tout du Cardinal. J'ai moi-même vu ou entendu parler de plusieurs groupes au diocèse qui ont demandé au Cardinal de faire leur travail à leur place. D'abord, selon moi, le Cardinal n'est pas en ce moment l'évêque viril dont le Québec a besoin (quoi qu'il peut changer!). Mais même s'il l'était, il ne pourrait pas tout faire, tant il manque d'appuis. Nous pouvons l'aider beaucoup en allant évangéliser les catégories de gens qui sont «hors de sa portée», comme la plupart des jeunes (qui ne vont jamais à l'église et qui ne liraient jamais spontanément un texte écrit par un évêque catholique). Il est fort probable aussi qu'on a une marge de manoeuvre beaucoup plus grande que lui. Nous, on peut défendre tous les enseignements de l'Église, sans avoir peur de faire mal paraître les autres évêques du Québec et du Canada!

4.2) Fonder encore une autre association/tiers-ordre/groupement/prélature personnelle. L'Église au Québec ne manque pas d'associations et de regroupements de toutes sortes. Au contraire, selon mon expérience, il y en a trop et elles sont dispersées, mal coordonnées, mal financées, etc. De plus, je veux éviter la microscopique et incestueuse déforestation.

4.3) Se replier sur nous-mêmes, supposément pour se concentrer sur «notre vie spirituelle». Bien sûr que l'âme de tout notre apostolat doit être notre vie intérieure! Mais d'abord, on n'a pas besoin de fonder une autre association de ce genre (il y en a plusieurs très bonnes, comme l'Opus Dei, www.opusdei.org). Ensuite, à ma connaissance, aucun groupe existant, par mandat ou par tempérament, ne peut faire ce qui doit être fait.

4.4) Rêvasser à tout le bien qu'on ferait si on avait beaucoup d'argent et de fidèles. Si on avait beaucoup d'argent, ou beaucoup de partisans, on n'aurait pas de problème. Imaginez si tous les fidèles du diocèse étaient très catholiques et fidèles au Pape. On cesserait immédiatement de donner de l'argent aux paroisses du diocèse, et on «importerait» de bons jeunes prêtres, on se construirait nos propres églises, et on aurait nos Messes et nos Sacrements bien faits! Même si l'évêque du lieu nous condamnait, on ferait appel à Rome, qui nous donnerait raison! Mais il faut rester en contact avec la réalité, et faire ce qu'on peut avec ce qu'on a, en demandant à Dieu de faire le reste.

4.5) Se couper de Rome. On n'en parle même pas! C'est hors de question! Au contraire, il faut tout faire pour rester fidèles au Pape, et à notre évêque diocésain (pour autant qu'il est lui-même en communion avec Rome).

Etc., etc. (voir la section No. 3 de Homosexualité, ou hétérostupidité?)

5) Comment exécuter notre mission?

Je persiste à penser que, en gros, le plan d'attaque décrit au point No. 4 du texte «Homosexualité, ou hétérostupidité?» est acceptable. On a un excellent «produit» (Jésus, les enseignements officiels de l'Église, etc.). Tout ce qu'il nous manque, c'est un peu de marketing!

Donc, étant donné tout ce qui précède, et mon pauvre petit cerveau qui n'a pas d'idées géniales, je pense que la prochaine étape pourrait être de rassembler une demi-douzaine d'hommes, leur mettre tous le même gaminet («T-shirt» en anglais), et aller en groupe distribuer de bons dépliants à des endroits stratégiques.

Il faudrait d'abord qu'on se réunisse pour composer ces dépliants ensemble, et ensuite les faire approuver si possible par un des deux nouveaux évêques auxiliaires du diocèse de Québec. En effet, le succès de notre approche dépenderait beaucoup de la qualité de ces dépliants. Il doivent être beaux, étoffés au point de vue doctrinal, un peu «provoquants» ou du moins originaux, et tout-à-fait adaptés à la clientèle-cible.

Pour lancer la réflexion sur cette idée, on pourrait distribuer des dépliants qui ressemblerait aux suivants, aux endroits et avec les gaminets spécifiés. Mais attention! Selon moi, aucun de ces gaminets ni aucun de ces textes ne serait acceptable tel quel! J'essaie surtout de faire entrechoquer nos cervelles comme des pierres-à-feu, pour faire jaillir des étincelles!

www.usmc.mil/

Endroit:

À l'entrée de la base militaire de Valcartier.

Dépliants:

Christ, Hostie, Tabernacle (les militaires sacrent trop!)
La Guerre du Vietnam et les Dix commandements
Etc., etc.

americanlifeleague.stores.yahoo.net/crusadertshirt.html

Endroit:

À la sortie des églises, aux messes du dimanche.

Dépliants:

Joyeux Noël (Enfin, quelque chose pour faire connaître le Catéchisme de l'Église catholique)
Résumé de l'instruction «Redemptionis Sacramentum»
Etc., etc.

www.opusdei.org/

Endroit:

À l'entrée de l'université Laval et des cégeps.

Dépliants:

Le Gant du philosophe
Une liste de lecture pour les athées
Etc., etc.

Autre bribes d'idées:

- Distribuer des dépliants sur Courage (www.couragerc.org) près du bar sodomite de Québec (à une distance légalement suffisante);

- Mettre un gaminet du Parti de l'Héritage Chrétien (www.chp-quebec.ca) et aller distribuer des dépliants contre l'avortement ou contre le désengagement politique à l'entrée des centres d'achats;

- Etc., etc...

Aussi, si des personnes commencent à argumenter contre nous, les inviter à un débat public à propos de cette question, un débat qui se ferait soit en personne ou par courriel.

6) Conclusion

Petit à petit, dépliant par dépliant, poignée de mains par poignée de mains, nous pourrions agrandir notre groupe. Nous serions comme un sage investisseur qui place le peu d'argent qu'il a, retire un peu de profit honnête, réinvestit son profit, et ainsi de suite jusqu'à temps qu'il soit riche! Comme disait Oncle Bob: «L'information motive le petit reste, le chef unit les motivés, l'union fait la force, la force achète des médias, les bons médias éduquent, l'éducation change le monde».

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus