| Home >> Lost Sermons

Open Letter To A Tearful Grandmother

Christina Robertson. Grand Duchess Maria Nikolaevna with Her Children.
(Christina Robertson. Grand Duchess Maria Nikolaevna with Her Children. [Source])

1) Introduction

Dear tearful grandmother,

You asked me for resources to convince young persons to be pro-life, and to help them properly discern the will of God, especially for marriage.

I'm sorry to have taken so much time to answer, especially since this letter is almost to say that I don't have an answer. Firstly, I'm not used to thinking about marriage and children: most of the young couples I know live in unmarried cohabitation, a more or less sterile cohabitation, and a cohabitation with a more or less high turnover rate. And I don't even dare think about what happened when some of those young persons had "unwanted pregnancies", to use the fashionable Nazi expression when talking about babies.

Secondly, I tried several times to imagine an article I could write to answer your question, maybe called: "A reading list for future newlyweds", or "The ten most important pieces of advice to give to your children, for the sake of your grandchildren", etc. But each time I tried, I failed.

2) The shortest beginning of an answer to your question

I'm under the impression that the shortest article I could write to answer your question, would be longer than my whole web site.

Let's take abortion for example. How can we convince young persons to be pro-life? If I knew, I'd go tell the Pope! The best I can do is a very imperfect Reading List for Pro-Choicers. But this list doesn't even itself fit on a few pages. Indeed, it "points" to other texts, which themselves "point" toward other texts, and so on.

Why be pro-life, unless we know the nature of the human soul? And how can we know the nature of the human soul, without studying the soul, Nature, and Philosophy? And how can we study Philosophy in a society where the very ideas of truth, good and evil, manners and wisdom are rejected? How can we even have the desire to study Philosophy if everything is mere belief, if each one of us has his or her values, if our conscience invents Ethics as we go along, if constructive debates are impossible, and if all we can do is follow intellectual fashions?

But it gets worse. How can we stay pro-life, if we're not equipped to answer pro-choice objections? And how can we answer pro-choice objections, if we're in a Church where many members of the clergy underhandedly encourage the acceptance of abortion? And how can we defend ourselves againt many Priests and Bishops in our Church without falling into hatred of that very Church, or excessive criticism, either to the left or to the right, or even sink into an apparently Catholic religious cult?

It seems to be just as complicated for marriage. How can we convince young persons of the importance of marriage, and of marrying well? There are so many things to do and to learn, and so many enemies to fight, and so many pitfalls to avoid!

First of all, these young persons must live their period of engagement in chastity, which is extraordinarily difficult in a society where young persons are encouraged, by all means possible, to spoil their virginity as soon as possible, while teaching them a morbid fear of children, and a boundless love for the condom, and the pill.

Even the Sacrament of Marriage as such is hard to obtain, since most of the Parishes in the Dioceses of the Province of Quebec only offer pretend-marriages, preceeded by "Marriage Preparation Courses" where they teach everything except what is love, what is Faith, what is true feminity or true virility, etc.

Even once they are married, the problems for these young persons have only started. Our Country has sunk into intellectual and moral darkness. Many Canadians refuse to even look at Christian memorabilia, while at the same time adoring idols, and justifying all abominations, as long as they occur in private.

3) A few resources

In my opinion, no young couple should be left to drift off by itself, without help, without coaching. That's why I always recommend to build up a good bookshelf, and to keep handy a list of good web sites.

But at some point of time, you need flesh and blood companions, unimpeachable in their knowledge of the Faith (like members of the Opus Dei).

4) Conclusion

As Jesus used to say, while he was typing away on his laptop after a hard day's work in his Dad's woodworking shop: "Fortunately I had good Saint Anne to keep me honest!"

That's actually my experience too. I'm a Catholic mostly because of my two grandmothers, who kept the Faith despite the general stampede to Atheism. Don't underestimate yourself! A head full of gray hair and hands full of Rosary beads can even convert the most apparently hopeless grandchildren!

Be therefore the second most important resource for your children and grandchildren: a good grandmother that keeps pointing her finger toward the most important resource, Jesus!

Everybody with and under the authority of Peter, to Jesus, by Mary

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Lettre ouverte à une grand-mère éplorée

Christina Robertson. La grande duchesse Maria Nikolaevna avec ses enfants.
(Christina Robertson. La grande duchesse Maria Nikolaevna avec ses enfants. [Source])

1) Introduction

Chère grand-mère éplorée,

Tu m'as demandé des ressources pour convaincre les jeunes d'être pro-vie, et pour les aider à bien discerner la volonté de Dieu, surtout quant au mariage.

Je m'excuse d'avoir pris tant de temps à répondre, d'autant plus que cette lettre est presque pour te dire que je n'ai pas de réponse. Premièrement, je n'ai pas l'habitude de réfléchir au mariage et aux enfants: la plupart des jeunes couples que je connais vivent en concubinage, un concubinage plus ou moins stérile, et un concubinage avec un roulement du personnel plus ou moins élevé. Et je n'ose même pas penser à ce qui s'est passé quand certains de ces jeunes ont eu des «grossesses non-désirées», pour employer l'expression Nazie à la mode lorsqu'on parle des bébés.

Deuxièmement, j'ai essayé à plusieurs reprises d'imaginer un article que je pourrais écrire pour répondre à ta question, peut-être intitulé: «Une liste de lecture pour les futurs mariés», ou «Les dix conseils les plus importants à donner à vos enfants, pour l'amour de vos petits-enfants», etc. Mais à chaque fois, j'ai bloqué.

2) Le plus court commencement de réponse à ta question

J'ai l'impression que le plus court article que je pourrais écrire pour répondre à ta question, serait plus long que tout mon site web.

Prenons par exemple l'avortement. Comment convaincre les jeunes d'être pro-vie? Si je le savais, j'irais le dire au Pape! Le mieux que j'ai pu faire est une bien imparfaite Liste de lecture pour les pro-choix. Mais cette liste elle-même ne tient pas sur quelques pages. En effet, elle «pointe» vers d'autres textes, qui eux-mêmes «pointent» vers d'autres textes, et ainsi de suite.

Pourquoi être pro-vie, à moins de connaître la nature de l'âme humaine? Et comment connaître la nature de l'âme humaine, sans étudier l'âme, la nature, et la philosophie? Et comment étudier la philosophie dans une société où on rejette les idées même de vérité, de bien et de mal, de savoir-vivre et de sagesse? Comment avoir même envie d'étudier la philosophie si tout n'est que croyance, si chacun a ses valeurs, si notre conscience invente l'éthique au fur et à mesure, si les débats constructifs sont impossibles, et si on ne peut que suivre la mode intellectuelle?

Mais il y a pire. Comment rester pro-vie, si on n'est pas équipé pour répondre aux objections pro-choix? Et comment répondre aux objections pro-choix, si on est dans une Église où de nombreux membres du clergé enseignent sournoisement à accepter l'avortement? Et comment se défendre contre de nombreux prêtres et évêques de son Église, sans tomber dans la haine de cette même Église, ou les critiques excessives à gauche ou à droite, ou même de sombrer dans une secte religieuse en apparence catholique?

Il me semble que c'est aussi compliqué pour le mariage. Comment convaincre les jeunes de l'importance de se marier, et de bien se marier? Il y a tant de choses à faire et à apprendre, et tant d'ennemis à combattre, et tant de pièges à éviter!

D'abord, il faut vivre ses fiancailles dans la chasteté, ce qui est extraordinairement difficile dans une société où on encourage les jeunes, par tous les moyens, à gâcher leur virginité le plus vite possible, tout en leur enseignant une peur morbide des enfants, et un amour sans limites pour le condom, et la pilule.

Même le Sacrement du Mariage en tant que tel est difficile à obtenir, car la plupart des paroisses dans les diocèses du Québec n'offrent que des simulacres de mariage, précédés de «cours de préparation au mariage» où on enseigne tout sauf ce qu'est l'amour, ce qu'est la Foi, ce qu'est la vraie féminité ou la vraie virilité, etc.

Même une fois mariés, les problèmes des jeunes ne font que commencer. Notre pays est dans les ténèbres intellectuelles et morales. Nombreux sont les canadiens qui refusent même de voir des souvenirs du christianisme, tout en adorant des idoles, et en justifiant toutes les abominations à condition qu'elles se passent en privé.

3) Quelques ressources

Selon moi, aucun jeune couple ne devrait être laissé à la dérive, sans aide, sans encadrement. C'est pourquoi je recommande toujours de se bâtir une bonne bibliothèque, et de garder à portée de la main une liste de bons sites web.

Mais à un moment donné il faut des compagnons en chair et en os, irréprochables dans leur connaissances sur la Foi (comme les membres de l'Opus Dei).

4) Conclusion

Comme disait Jésus, pendant qu'il pitonnait sur son laptop, après avoir bûché toute la journée dans l'atelier de charpentier de son père: «Heureusement que j'ai eu la bonne sainte Anne pour me garder dans le droit chemin»!

C'est d'ailleurs mon expérience aussi. Je suis catholique à cause surtout de mes deux grand-mères, qui ont gardé la Foi malgré la débandade généralisée. Ne te sous-estime pas! Une tête pleine de cheveux gris et des mains pleines de grains de chapelet peuvent convertir même les petits-enfants les plus apparemment perdus d'avance!

Sois donc la deuxième ressource la plus importante pour tes enfants et tes petits-enfants: une bonne grand-mère qui n'arrête pas de pointer son doigt vers la ressource la plus importante, Jésus!

Tous avec et sous l'autorité de Pierre, vers Jésus, par Marie

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus